Alternative content

Get Adobe Flash player

23.05.2019, CZWARTEK

 

Parish church complex in Lezajsk

Location:

  • Street Market Square  35
    Leżajsk 37-300
  • City: Lezajsk
    City state: Leżajski
  • Latitude (X):
    N 50° 15' 10"
    Longitude (Y):
    E 22° 25' 24"

See map:

 


Touristic attactions
(Religious Sites)

Default

  • Grading system: Lack

Information

Parish church complex from the beginning of 17th century is situated At 35 Rynek St. The complex consists of: a church, a vicarage, a presbytery and walls. The Parish in Lezajsk was set up in 1400 by king Wladyslaw Jagiełło. The church– in chancel there is an Early Baroque main altar from 1643. Near the altar there are sculptures and richly ornamented stalls (it means that was a monastic church). Side altars are from 1700, made in Baroque style and reconstructed in the 19th century. In the right side altar there is a painting of Virgin Mary with the Child. The church is surrounded by original defensive walls (on the northern, eastern and western sides) and by a fence from the beginning of 20th century (on the southern side). The presbytery – originally it was a cloister of the Fathers of the Holy Sepulchre erected in 1614. The building was reconstructed in 1820 when a storey was added. In 1925 there was added a northern part to the building. Last renovation of the presbytery took place in the 1960s while it lost its historic character.

Podkarpacka Regionalna
Organizacja Turystyczna

ul. Grunwaldzka 2 (wejście od ul. Matejki)
35-068 Rzeszów
tel. +48 17 852 00 09


                              
"Project co-financed by the European Union from the European Regional Development Fund and the state budget through the Carpathian Euroregion in the CBC Programme Poland - Slovak Republic 2007 - 2013"